BTEC National Level 3

BTEC Nationals Level 3

BTEC Nationals provide specialist, work-related learning across a range of sectors. Delivering the knowledge, skills and understanding students need to prepare for their chosen career, BTEC Nationals offer progression to higher or further education or into employment

What you learn

BTEC National qualifications provide specialist, work-related learning across a range of vocational sectors. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare for employment, as well as providing career development opportunities for those already in work.

BTEC Nationals provide much of the underpinning knowledge and understanding for the National Occupational Standards for a specific sector, and are supported by the relevant Sector Skills Councils (SSCs) and/or Standards Setting Bodies (SSBs).

Course content includes:
• Core units covering essential knowledge and skills;
• A wide range of optional units focusing on specialist knowledge;
• Qualification pathways reflecting specialist areas.

How you learn

BTEC National qualifications provide a more practical, real-world way of learning and their value is widely recognised by teaching professionals, employers, higher education and students.

BTEC Nationals can be studied full or part-time. Each programme of study covers a number of units for which students must present evidence based on their learning, demonstrating the knowledge and skills they’ve developed on the course.

BTEC Nationals are highly regarded by universities, further education colleges and employers. On successful completion of a BTEC National qualification, learners can progress to employment or continue their learning within the same or related areas of study in higher education, at degree level and professional development programmes.

Certain BTEC National qualifications are recognised as Technical Certificates and form part of the Apprenticeship framework. They attract UCAS points that equate to similar-sized general qualifications within education institutions in the UK.

BTEC National in Sport

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Sport Development and Coaching is the equivalent to three A Levels and nationally recognised by UCAS and Higher Education Institutions.

It has been designed as a full two-year programme for post-16 learners. This qualification is particularly appropriate for learners who are interested in progressing to a career in sports development or coaching.

The content of this qualification has been developed in consultation with employers and relevant professional bodies to confirm that it is appropriate for those interested in working in the sector. In addition, HE representatives have been involved to ensure that it meets entry requirements for specialist degree courses.

Halifax Elite Rugby Academy

Halifax ERA